top of page

Movie: Union Pacific (1939)

(I have decided I am going to blog about other artsy things I am engaged with. A big part of this is, movies. So here we are, the first non-fine art type blog post.)

I have been intending to see this movie as part of my 'to-be-seen' list of award winning films. Union Pacific got the very first Palme d'Or in Cannes in 1939; so far I haven't had luck to get it, but the other day I had accidentally come across it in our library.


There are so many cringe-worthy moments in this film, still, I just can't help loving most of it. First, there are the three main actors: Barbara Stanwyck, Joel McCrea, and Robert Preston. They are a fantastic trio, and although their acting style is of course somewhat pompous and corny (as in all movies of that era), whenever they 'forget' to play their part that way, they create some truly authentic and wonderfully spontaneous moments. It is sometimes just a half-smile, or an instinctive gesture, or an accidental glance; but these moments are way worth sitting through the movie's overall corny patriotism and terribly cringy scenes with Native Americans. Barbara Stanwyck especially adorable and natural most of the time - which surprised me a lot too.


Then, I loved the interesting dynamics of the the 3 main characters; the relationships are psychologically supported giving the players' actions complete plausibility, which, again, amazed me.

Tags:

Follow Me
  • Instagram
  • fb2.png
  • behance2.png
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page